Ichigo Daifuku (いちごだいふく)

28 Feb

I made ichigo (strawberry) daifuku in honor of Girls’ Day/Hinamatsuri. Sweet mochi, strawberries, and anko… yummy!

I’ll take you through the process of making these things. It was my first time in awhile so I made some mistakes and learned from them.

Here are the main ingredients for ichigo daifuku. If you live in an ethnically diverse area, chances are good that your local grocery store will have mochiko in their Asian section. If not, I would try an Asian grocery store. I made my anko from scratch using azuki beans BUT I highly recommend taking the shortcut and buying premade anko paste. Making it from scratch was time-consuming!

You’ll want to get all your ingredients ready before you begin. Have your strawberries washed, dried, and cut, make the anko, etc. Once you begin, you can’t really take a break in the middle of this.

I followed the ichigo daifuku recipe from About.com (I didn’t follow it exactly though).

First I mixed the water, sugar, and mochiko together in a bowl (it looked like thick glue):

Then I microwaved on high for 2.5 minutes until it was thick and formed a ball when mixing, like this (make sure you mix it really well to avoid hard clumps in your mochi):

Then I used kitchen scissors to cut the ball into 8 pieces. They weren’t all exactly the same size, but that was ok because my strawberries were all different sizes too.

I dusted my working surface with mochiko because I didn’t have any katakuriko (potato starch). The mochiko has a funky texture though, so next time, I think I will use a corn starch/powered sugar mixture instead for a softer feel.

Let these rest for one minute because they are REALLY hot straight out the microwave. But you’ll want to start wrapping the strawberries as soon as you can handle them, otherwise, they will get too hard.

Then I flattened each piece, stuck a small spoonful of anko in the middle, placed half of a strawberry on top, then stretched the sides together to form a ball. Don’t flatten the mochi too thinly or it will tear and not look pretty. (Also, I learned that smaller strawberries are better. The bigger ones were hard to wrap).

If you do it just right, you’ll be able to see a hint of pink through the translucent white mochi:

VARIATIONS:

* Add a drop of red food coloring before microwaving for pink daifuku.

*Une-Deux Senses made very pretty green tea-strawberry daifuku here.

*Instead of anko, dip the strawberries in white chocolate then wrap in mochi.

* Instead of anko, put strawberries and Nutella inside.

* Use a different fruit. I’ve done raspberries+white chocolate before, and it was AMAZING.

* If you work quickly, you could wrap some ice cream inside the mochi for mochi ice cream. MMM.

I’m off to a Hinamatsuri Playdate now, but I will post the full recipe for you later.

2 Responses to “Ichigo Daifuku (いちごだいふく)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hinamatsuri /ひな祭り « Hiragana Mama - March 1, 2011

    [...] (make sure you check out my post about ichigo daifuku!) [...]

  2. Ichigo Daifuku Recipe « Hiragana Mama - March 1, 2011

    [...] – Making Ichigo Daifuku photos [...]

What do you think? どうおもう?

