azuki ice! アズキアイス

6 Jun

azuki ice

This is a simple summer treat… aduki ice/アズキアイス! It is so yummy, I could easily eat an entire batch by myself :)

Aduki Ice Recipe

Ingredients:

About 1 part sweet aduki bean paste (or tsubu-an)

About 1 part heavy cream or milk (heavy cream for a creamier texture, milk for a crunchier texture. I like to use a 50/50 mix).

Directions:

1. Mix all ingredients together.

2. Pour or spoon into ice cube trays.

3. When frozen (about a few hours), pop them out into a dish, and enjoy! My kids love it!

***

You can buy azuki paste at most Asian grocery stores. If not, they are available online as well.

Learn more about:

Aduki/azuki/adzuki beans HERE.

Azuki paste/Red Bean Paste HERE.

***

If you don’t like my recipe, HERE is another one you can try, by Closet Cooking.

Type in “アズキアイス” at images.google.com to see what azuki ice looks like in Japan :) It will make you want to buy a plane ticket.

5 Responses to “azuki ice! アズキアイス”

  1. Laurie June 7, 2011 at 3:53 AM #

    I am SO trying this !! But I don’t know what heavy cream is called here in France… ><

    Milk : condensed, sugared milk or regular, normal milk ?

    • Hiragana Mama June 7, 2011 at 7:07 AM #

      I use the kind of cream that you can whip into whipped cream. As for the milk, we just use regular 2% milk, although whole milk would probably be great too!

      • Laurie June 7, 2011 at 3:48 PM #

        Okay, that’s great, thanks ! I can find everything the recipe calls for, then ! I will let you know how it turned out !

  2. foodlabasia June 17, 2011 at 12:25 AM #

    OH i happen to have leftover half & half at home!!! I’ll definitely give it a try! Looks yummy! :)

What do you think? どうおもう?

