Japanese Hairstyles

4 Jul

So… this post has nothing to do with educating our children, but I thought a lot of you Asian-mama’s might be interested.

I went to get a hair cut this weekend. And every time I go get a haircut,  I visit the website http://www.rasysa.com/ for inspiration. It is seriously the best website for hairstyle inspiration!!!! You can browse by season, hair length, etc and there are hundreds of pictures to look at. You are almost sure to find a style that you like.

Before I discovered this site, I would look at People or InStyle magazine for inspiration but I couldn’t really tell if a hairstyle on a Caucasian girl would look good on a Japanese girl like me.

So anyway… if you have been contemplating getting a haircut… check it out!

This picture was my inspiration and my hairstylist did an excellent job replicating it on my hair :)

from rasysa.com

There’s even a hairstyle simulator (you can “try on” hairstyles online) if you know enough Japanese to navigate through the instructions.

4 Responses to “Japanese Hairstyles”

  1. Bicultural Mama July 5, 2011 at 10:09 PM #

    I love the concept of the site. Do they have it in English? It looked like it was all in Japanese. You should post a picture of you with your new haircut next to the photo from rasysa.

    • Hiragana Mama July 6, 2011 at 7:08 AM #

      I think it is 100% Japanese :( But maybe Google Translate can translate it into English.

      I hate posting pictures of myself… I’m not very photogenic :)

  2. yukiko July 6, 2011 at 7:52 PM #

    Nice! I’ve always had a hard time trying to find hairstyles for asian hair! I just put this into Google Translate, and while a lot of the descriptions don’t make much sense, it’s clear enough were you can navigate the site.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Makeup for Japanese Faces « Hiragana Mama - December 14, 2011

    [...] 2) Japanese Fashion Magazines, like AneCan. They usually include beauty how-to’s, but most of their products are Japanese, so that part’s not very helpful. I like to look at these magazines for hairstyle inspiration too. [...]

What do you think? どうおもう?

