Get Your Kids to Eat Their Veggies with Japanese Food, Pt.2

26 Aug

Here is the curry (カレー)I made for dinner last night. This is my daughter’s pink plate, and I could not get a very appetizing picture of the curry on it :( I promise it was good. Please click on one of the following links to see more appetizing pictures of curry (with accompanying recipes):

1. Japanese Chicken and Vegetable Curry by fuss free cooking

2. Kare (Japanese Curry) by Closet Cooking

3. Homemade Japanese Curry Rice by No Recipes

Hungry for some now? Good! Because Japanese curry is a great way to get your daily dose of veggies. If you’ve never made Japanese curry before, the S&B website has a great step-by-step picture tutorial (in Japanese) for how to make delicious curry. I believe most grocery stores these days carry boxes of Japanese curry in their Asian sections. There should be instructions on the back written in English. It’s really easy. I’ve never tried, but I bet you could even make curry in a crock-pot.

Some of the classic vegetables used in curry are: potatoes, carrots, and onions.

But  I think almost any veggie would be great in a curry– broccoli, zucchini, peas… the possibilities are exciting! I also like to add some chopped apples if I’m going for a sweet curry. When I was a child, my mother let us sprinkle American cheese on top of our hot curry and we thought that was the best thing ever. What are some of your favorite ingredients to put in Japanese curry?

If your child doesn’t like “seeing” veggies in his meals, it’s easy to take some of the curry and puree vegetables with it. Since the curry is brown, your child will never know what you put inside!

Curry is a very popular dish in Japan, maybe comparable to Spaghetti&Meatballs in the U.S.A. Many children will say that it is their favorite meal. There’s been some cute songs and cartoons made about curry too! (Click HERE for a cute one from おかあさんといっしょ).

My mom makes curry bread (カレーパン) with leftover curry. You just put a spoonful of curry inside some bread dough (Rhodes dough), dredge in egg, cover in panko, and deep-fry until the bread is cooked through. It is so good! You could also use leftover (or new) curry to top udon or tonkatsu. Yum, yum! カレーだいすき!

 

12 Responses to “Get Your Kids to Eat Their Veggies with Japanese Food, Pt.2”

  1. Bicultural Mama August 26, 2011 at 11:36 PM #

    Love curry, though I haven’t tried feeding it to my daughter. Now I may be inspired.

  2. Lorier August 27, 2011 at 1:09 PM #

    I am currently living in Japan and I have fallen madly in love with Japanese curry. I often make curry with mushrooms, eggplant and spinach… But almost any curry can be delicious…

    • Hiragana Mama August 27, 2011 at 3:48 PM #

      Ive never tried mushrooms but that’s a great idea!

  3. Asianmommy August 27, 2011 at 4:18 PM #

    Yum! My mom used to make chicken curry that looked just like that.

  4. Az August 27, 2011 at 10:39 PM #

    Curry is our favorite dish now. ( I like curry bread too.)

    My favorite curry is grounded meat curry. That takes only 20 min. to make,
    and you can put in freezer too. Because it doesn’t contain potatoes.

    And I really love to have curry party. Each guest bring one pot of curry.
    You can taste so many kind of curry at one time!!

    • Hiragana Mama August 28, 2011 at 9:57 AM #

      Oh, using ground meat is a GREAT idea, especially for kids!!

      We’ve had some curry parties in the past. I also attended an annual Curry Fest during my college years. Maybe I’ll have a party this winter :)

  5. AdelaideBen August 28, 2011 at 5:49 AM #

    Definitely a good idea… and when you say curry, people might think that this is too hot for young children, but Japanese curries are super mild (and delicious). Strangely enough our son loves his carrots, pumpkin, broccoli and assorted other veg that many children dislike… however he dislikes potato (strangely enough)… unless it’s a McDonalds… sad but true.

    Thanks for sharing some good ideas with us. As parents, no matter where we’re at with our children, we can always use a little help.

    • Hiragana Mama August 28, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

      Good point! Japanese curry is very mild compared to other curries. Even their “hot” ones aren’t too hot compared to some Indian and Thai curries.

      I’ve eaten Indian curries before where tears streamed down my face and I had to beg the waiter for a bowl of yogurt to cool my burning mouth :) Not for kids!

  6. HapaMama August 29, 2011 at 2:07 AM #

    My older son’s favorite food is curry chicken. I also think the flavor is a great way to mask some of the vegetables they don’t like. I love to add butternut squash, and puree some of it with the sauce. They won’t even notice it’s there!

    • Hiragana Mama August 30, 2011 at 6:53 AM #

      Butternut squash is a good idea!

  7. smurfett August 29, 2011 at 11:03 PM #

    that’s a totally cute video.

  8. 紗織 August 31, 2011 at 10:49 PM #

    I love curry! It’s not that difficult to make either. My favorite is hamburger curry, especially with cheese in the center of the burger. Next to that, I love curry with thick peices of meat, potatoes, as well as onions, garlic and carrots. I never liked onions before curry, and didn’t know much about garlic since my dad never liked it. I realized I like cooked onions better than raw ones, and often use garlic in recipes now.

    Another good way to sneak in vegetables is to hand make burgers (not the frozen patties) and puree things like carrots into them.

What do you think? どうおもう?

