Year of the Dragon Blog Carnival

23 Jan

Happy Lunar New Year! I was asked to submit an article about being an Asian-American mom to the MomsRising Year of the Dragon Blog Carnival. I feel honored to be included in the lineup of other powerful Asian-Americans. I decided to write about the reasons why I love raising my half-Japanese children. My  husband sometimes accuses me of being a “glass half-empty” kind of person, so in 2012, I want to focus on being a more positive person, especially towards my children. Click HERE to read what I wrote! What are some reasons why you love your children (Asian-American or not)?  I challenge you to write down 10 things you love about them in your journal, baby book, or blog. I would love it if you tweet, like, or share the article in other ways if you enjoy it :).

P.S. I now have a Hiragana Mama Twitter account. I know. I told myself I would NEVER join Twitter. I just want to try it out and see what it’s all about. If you want to follow me, just search for HiraganaMama. But I warn you, I have no idea what I’m doing.

5 Responses to “Year of the Dragon Blog Carnival”

  1. Bicultural Mama January 23, 2012 at 4:42 PM #

    Nice to see you in the Blog Carnival, too!

    • Hiragana Mama January 23, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

      You too! I plan to read what you wrote very soon!

  2. Molly Huang January 23, 2012 at 5:51 PM #

    Other than the fact that Matthew is way better looking than the both of us, all three of us love the slang term, chirish, which is chinese and irish. I know those are superficial things, but we love ‘em. I second your thoughts on multi-cultural eating. I would say that is the most chinese thing we do. The ONLY meat Matthew will eat is in chinese dumplings and he is way better about spinach and broccoli than any other kid I have met (except Kaelyn Matthew’s and her crazy broccli loving). I also caught him trying to drink from the soy sauce bottle last year…. that is not so good, but at least it’s a laugh. Oh and sorry about your daughter’s arm, hopefully she heals fast!

    • Hiragana Mama January 23, 2012 at 6:12 PM #

      Thank you Molly! I love the term “Chirish”! It’s very cute.

  3. yseino January 23, 2012 at 9:19 PM #

    Good list! It makes me wish I was better at Japanese so I could raise bilingual/bicultural kids one day :( I shouldn’t have slacked off on gakushusho…

What do you think? どうおもう?

