Buying Japanese Children’s Books, DVD’s, etc.

17 May

“Dog Loves Books”, by Louise Yates

Over a year ago, I wrote up a post about “How to Get Japanese Children’s Books.” It has been one of my most popular posts, so there must be many of you out there searching for books for your children! A year ago, it was very difficult to find Japanese books online. I am here to tell you that it is now easier!

I have been browsing eBay recently and have been pleasantly surprised to find that there are now many more people selling Japanese children’s books, DVDs, other educational materials, and toys… and at pretty decent prices. Here are some of my favorite finds today (hurry and snatch them up if you are interested! Dear Sellers, You are welcome.):

1. Nontan DVD, $20

2. Electronic book that plays 6 Japanese children’s songs, $16.99

3. Hiragana magnets set, $11.99

4. Katakana magnets, $10.99 (I am really tempted to get these!)

5. Hantai Kotoba Cards/Game, $12.99 (I really want these too)

6. Set of 2 “Kaiketsu Zorori” books, $9.99 (elementary-aged kids love this series!)

I thought the seller that had the best and most products was kat14kw. This person is shipping from Japan, but the shipping charges are decent, I think. She is selling a lot of hiragana charts, for those of you who are still looking.

To search on your own, just go to eBay.com and search for “Japanese Children’s Books”, “Japanese Children’s DVD’s”, “Kodomo Challenge”, “Anpanman”, “Hiragana Charts”, or whatever it is you are looking for, and you’ll probably find stuff. I should probably go through the stuff I don’t need anymore and sell them on eBay too!

Amazon.com (the American version) still lacks a great selection, and the books are very expensive. One of my readers, Louise, emailed me to let me know that a book she has written called “Dog Loves Books” is now available in Japanese. It looks adorable! Good job Louise!

Joechip.net has written a good post about other online retailers that sell Japanese Children’s Books.

If you and your children enjoy Japanese children’s magazines like ベビーブック and たのしい幼稚園, you can order an issue or subscribe for 6months~year at shop.mitsuwa.com. They also have subscriptions to “Kodomo no Tomo“, a company that sends you children’s books each month. I have a local friend who does this for her daughter and they really enjoy receiving new books each month.

Don’t forget about Benesse’s Kodomo Challenge program too (with Shimajiro). Read my post about it HERE.

***

Whew! Did that help anyone out there? Have you made any cool discoveries lately? Where do you buy your Japanese books?

P.S. I am not getting paid by anyone to advertise their stores or products!

8 Responses to “Buying Japanese Children’s Books, DVD’s, etc.”

  1. Sasha May 27, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

    Hi and thanks for your links. Though many of them are now labeled sold out, I was still able to find some interesting things :) (and plenty to look at later, because I just can’t buy all the online shops, can I? mmmh? a bit excessive? maybe ^^)

    I thank you too for relaying the “little japan mama” blog, her little animal shaped cutters made my day ^^

    About Shimajirou, I thought I would never get through completing the form needed to get it, because you need a japanese name and address………… and I don’t have one. Fortunately, I finally found a japanese friend who agreed to help with that (and the full of kanji undunderstandable stuff, of course). I’m really glad I did manage that because the videos, games and books are so fun to go through with a toddler!
    And as I’m starting to understand kanji, I can get some useful parenting advices too, as there is a parenting book as well with each delivery.

    My girl was delighted with her Shimajiro birthday presents and special 2 year old book! they’re so cute ^^ (and the tooth brush was especially nice, because it’s impossible to find such nice and tiny things in France and every brush I could find was hurting her)

    Anyway, thx again as I didn’t know most of those online book providers. can’t wait for your next post already :)

    • Hiragana Mama May 27, 2012 at 8:06 PM #

      I am so glad you like Shimajirou! I think Kodomo Challenge is such a great program. Thanks for the kind comments!

      • Juan Aldaz June 3, 2013 at 9:13 PM #

        Hi Hiragana Mama, I have a nephew 4 y.o. that just moved to Japan, and I want to buy some books from Amazon or something to help him adapt and learn some japanese before he goes to school. Wich one would you recommend? Thanks. Juan

  2. natsumi June 13, 2012 at 1:28 PM #

    I have found a good iPhone/iPod Touch app for Japanese kid’s books. It is called ‘Koehon.’ There is 4 or 5 free ones and the rest you have to buy for 99 cents or 1.99. I have also been looking on Ebay for Japanese kids books and there is a lot!

    • Hiragana Mama June 13, 2012 at 3:51 PM #

      I’ve bought a few of the Koe-ehon apps, we love them! You’ve reminded me to write up an updated apps post. There’s constantly newer, better ones out there!

  3. Dayna October 2, 2012 at 12:07 AM #

    I love your blog! Thank you for all the useful tips! I just began searching for childrens books for my daughter and your blog has been the most helpful! Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. え:えほん How to get Japanese children’s books « Hiragana Mama - May 17, 2012

    [...] 2012 UPDATE: Please read this blog post for more ways to obtain Japanese books! [...]

  2. I Want to Teach My Child Japanese- Where Do I Begin? « Hiragana Mama - October 3, 2012

    [...] – Read as many Japanese books as you can get your hands on to your children. (You can subscribe to books online). [...]

What do you think? どうおもう?

