Anpanman-Themed Birthday Party

5 Jun

My party may pale in comparison to Karen’s Sumo Party, but a few weeks ago, we celebrated my son’s birthday with an Anpanman party!! My son doesn’t say too many words yet, but he does know how to say “Anpanman”!

 

Party games are tricky with 2-year olds. They can’t follow directions really well and their attention spans are really short. So I decided to just do some things that my son naturally likes to do:

1) Throwing: We threw balls at Baikinman (I made him out of a cardboard box) and tried to knock him over. It was a hit!

2) Hide-and-Seek: I hid little Anpanman and Baikinman figurines under cups and had the kids guess where they were.

3) Hitting: I bought a generic pinata from Target, pasted some Anpaman pictures on it, and filled it with candy. They had a great time hitting it!

For food, I made some Anpanman-character cookies using sandwich molds I bought while we were in Japan. We also had “An-Punch” (fruit slush punch). I would have loved to make actual anpan too (anko-filled bread) but I was not that ambitious :). We also had some finger foods for the adults. We ordered a blank ice cream cake from Dairy Queen and I decorated it myself.

My kids wore the Anpanman shirts we bought at the Anpanman Children’s Museum in Yokohama.

Guests were sent home with these treat bags, filled with snacks, Anpanman candy, and little Japanese kaleidoscopes.

I bought these balloons in Japan and had the local party store put helium in them.

It was a quick, simple party but my son was THRILLED. Being the second child, he doesn’t get the spotlight very often so he really enjoyed his special day. Thanks to our friends and family, and Anpanman, for this fun birthday!

16 Responses to “Anpanman-Themed Birthday Party”

  1. kmaruyam June 5, 2012 at 9:14 AM #

    That is awesome! We love Anpanman, too! I love the sandwiches and Baikinman games — too funny! Your piñata game also is great! My kids would have loved to attend your party, too! :)

  2. kuroodetto June 5, 2012 at 9:31 PM #

    That’s great. This and the Sumo party are great ideas to keep in mind for my son’s 2nd birthday.

  3. yseino June 5, 2012 at 10:14 PM #

    I thought that was your handwriting on the cake! Looks good. You’re smart to think of using sandwich cutters as cookie cutters; they turned out awesome!

  4. AdelaideBen (@Adelaide_Ben) June 8, 2012 at 10:25 AM #

    Loved the Anpanman-theme party… our son had one when he was 3, and he loved it (but yours really was a serious theme!). Well done.

  5. Mew June 8, 2012 at 4:26 PM #

    I’m pretty impressed by how much Anpanman you got into one party especially for not being in Japan. Lots of creative ways to theme a party without having to go out and buy pre-themed stuff…definitely will keep some of these tips in mind!

    • Hiragana Mama June 9, 2012 at 8:20 AM #

      Hi Mew! Thanks for the compliment :) I’ve never heard of Nihongo Master, just went and checked it out… pretty neat, good job!

      • Mew June 19, 2012 at 5:53 PM #

        Thanks! Nihongo Master was just launched a few months ago so I’m more than happy to hear what others think.

        We’re working hard to serve everyone who’s interested in learning Japanese.

        I’ve subscribed to your blog, btw :)

  6. kuyasnotebook June 10, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

    That’s so cool! When I was a baby, I lived in Tokyo (my dad worked there for a few years). Apparently, my obsession was with Anpanman! I actually still have the Anpanman toy (from 1999!) that I used to play with somewhere in my house (probably buried in my closet).

    I love the Anpanman cookies! They’re really cool! :)

    • Hiragana Mama June 13, 2012 at 3:50 PM #

      So cute! Anpanman has been popular for a very long time :)

  7. Asianmommy June 10, 2012 at 9:49 PM #

    So cute! Love your amazing cookies!

  8. Little Japan Mama June 12, 2012 at 1:30 AM #

    Wow what an amazing birthday party! Well done!♡♡♡

    • Karina June 14, 2012 at 9:51 AM #

      Hi, I love your stories!

      • Karina June 14, 2012 at 10:00 AM #

        Hi, my name is Karina. I’m a fan of your blog! I love Japan and I love the way you tell us about Japan. One thing I most love about Japan is its concern about eco friendly life style in daily life. So, I have a request. If you dont mind, could you please write about eco friendly lifestyle or, could you please advise me some good websites about it? Please…? :) Wish you always having a good time!

        • Hiragana Mama June 14, 2012 at 2:27 PM #

          Thanks for your comment Karina! I try to only post about children/Japanese-language related things on my blog, but I’ll think about it! I am sure there are lots of blogs/websites out there about Japan’s Eco-friendliness, but none come to mind right away, sorry!

What do you think? どうおもう?

