20 Kid’s Halloween Costumes Inspired by Japan

19 Oct

Cutest Totoro EVER, by “you and mie”

What are you/your kids going to be for Halloween this year? My kids are dressing up as the Little Mermaid and Spiderman. They are super cute! I was also thinking that, to be unique, it would be fun to dress up as something inspired by Japan for another Halloween. Here are some things/characters that I thought of that would make great costumes!

1. Chibi Maruko chan

2. Hello Kitty (my daughter was Hello Kitty 2 years ago)

3. Domo kun

4. Totoro

5. Kiki

6. Anpanman

7. Doraemon

8. Rilakumma

9. Peko chan

10. Kamen Rider

11. Sazae-san

12. Mario/Princess Peach

13. Shinkansen driver

14. Sakura (Cherry Blossom) tree

15. Pretty Cure

16. Cooking Mai

17. U-tan

18. Ninja

19. Sumo wrestler

20. Sushi (I’ve seen a lot of great sushi costumes online this year!)

 

Do you have any more ideas? Click HERE, HERE, or HERE for my previous posts about Halloween in Japan.

6 Responses to “20 Kid’s Halloween Costumes Inspired by Japan”

  1. Cosmo October 19, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    My 1st grader wanted a しゅごキャラ or a リルぷりっ costume. Though I wanted to dress my girls as Mei and Satsuki but seeing the Totoro above makes me wish I had 3 kids to dress. I didn’t have the time to make any of the above costumes this year so she settled on a generic asian princess costume from the store that she is calling Ohime-sama since she loves hinamaturi dolls at the moment. I just wish I could afford a nice kimono for her to wear instead. I promised I would make any costume she wants next year.

    • Hiragana Mama October 19, 2012 at 4:53 PM #

      Those are all wonderful ideas! A Mei, Satsuki, and Totoro combo would be sooo cute!

  2. Cherie October 20, 2012 at 2:10 AM #

    Thanks for linking to my Totoro costume! I actually made a Mei-chan outfit too here: http://youandmie.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/mei-chan/

    Cool blog! I would love if my daughter could learn Japanese, but I don’t speak it, so I don’t know she could. So for now, I’m just trying to expose her to the language when possible (like watching Totoro :)), and hope she picks up a little here and there. I’m looking forward to hearing about great resources from you!

    • Hiragana Mama October 20, 2012 at 7:17 AM #

      Oooohhh my goodness, how cute! I wish I would have thought to do this when my daughter was younger. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Asianmommy October 26, 2012 at 5:53 PM #

    Aww…I love the Totoro outfit!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Japanese Greetings/ あいさつ + An Update | Hiragana Mama - October 4, 2013

    […] Japanese games, etc, so keep checking back. In the meanwhile, check out my past posts about Japan-inspired Halloween costume ideas and How Halloween is celebrated in […]

What do you think? どうおもう?

