Chibi Maruko-chan

26 Feb

Did anyone else grow up watching/reaching Chibi Maruko Chan(ちびまる子ちゃん)? Not only is this popular cartoon series fun to read, but great for learning Japanese words and learning about Japanese culture. (Click HERE to see the original cartoon series by Sakura Momoko on Amazon)

I  recently discovered a new series of educational cartoon books called “満点ゲットシリーズ (Get a Perfect Score Series) featuring Chibi Maruko-chan, and I am in love with them!!! They are meant for elementary-aged and older students, and PERFECT for an adult like me who wants a good review/brush up on their Japanese. If you happen upon these books, I highly recommend them! Click HERE to see all the books in this series.

There are books for learning kanji, keigo (polite Japanese), Japanese idioms, haiku, etc. There’s even books for learning math and social studies too. I want to read them all!

img_4-08-314002-X_2

img_978-4-08-314038-9

There are several copies available on Amazon.com and Ebay, and one book in the series at JBox.com. Let me know if you find them anywhere else! My daughter’s Japanese School has most of these books so I’ve been borrowing one every few weeks to read.

4 Responses to “Chibi Maruko-chan”

  1. komac1 February 26, 2013 at 1:47 PM #

    I want to read them all too! Thank you for another awesome recommendation. I’m jealous that you get to borrow from the library!.

  2. wwwhitney February 26, 2013 at 2:52 PM #

    My friend gave me one on “kotowaza” (Japanese proverbs). I especially like that the book explains each one and then has a funny little comic showing how it might be used in a real situation.

  3. プリキュアとU.S.エーカズファンガール July 26, 2013 at 9:00 PM #

    I watched 5 episodes of this at 3 in the morning last summer! I love this show!

What do you think? どうおもう?

