2013 Kodomo No Hi /こどもの日!

5 May

Happy Children’s Day! I know I am late getting this post up… sorry! I hope everyone had a wonderful day. I am so grateful for my own children who bring so much fun and love into my life, and for all the other children I know!

Today we invited some friends over for a special Okosama Lunch (lunch for children).

lunch1

This year’s Okosama lunch(お子様ランチ) featured shrimp fried rice, potato and beef croquettes/korokke, and purin for dessert.

lunch2

At Japanese School, they made kabuto hats out of newspaper:

lunch3

And lastly, I want to show off my awesome mom. She teaches at a Japanese preschool (wish she lived closer!) and always comes up with the best ideas for crafts. For Kodomo No Hi this year, she and the children made these paper bag koinobori. She said she just used brown paper bags from the grocery store. I want to try making these next year!

lunch4

For  more Japanese Children’s Day ideas, just search “Kodomo No Hi” in the search toolbar to the right! :) Lots more ideas on my Pinterest board as well. Thank you for reading!

6 Responses to “2013 Kodomo No Hi /こどもの日!”

  1. eclecticlamb May 6, 2013 at 5:39 AM #

    The lunch looks beautiful!

  2. Karen Bolognese May 7, 2013 at 10:16 PM #

    A couple questions — Do you have a recipe for your shrimp fried rice?

    Your mom said she used brown paper bags. Like lunch bags? Did she glue the handle in? I’m doing an activity at my son’s preschool and was contemplating something like this…. Very cute!

    Sadly, no sumo birthday party this year! He has reverted to superheroes.

    • Hiragana Mama May 8, 2013 at 12:43 PM #

      For the shrimp fried rice, I just scrambled eggs in some butter in a pan on medium heat, added sliced green onions and chopped shrimp, then stirred in white rice (cold rice) until hot. I then added 2 tablespoons of chicken broth and one tablespoon of soy sauce. I seasoned with salt and pepper.

      My mom used brown grocery bags (the large kind). She said she was able to get 3 koi out of one bag. She used the handles that come on some grocery bags as the handles for the koinobori. I think she just stapled them on. She said she used the sewing machine to sew the fish all together.

  3. Nami | Just One Cookbook May 21, 2013 at 12:26 AM #

    Hi Hatsuho! Thank you so much for the message. I missed this post, so I’m glad you told me. Your purin looks so delicious and what a cute Okosama Lunch Set! I gotta find that tray for fun! :D So happy that you really enjoyed this purin recipe. Thank you so much for your compliments!

    • Hiragana Mama May 21, 2013 at 1:31 PM #

      The trays are foam lunch plates… from Wal-Mart, I believe. :)

What do you think? どうおもう?

