Dandelion Crowns たんぽぽのかんむり

10 May

dandy1

Is anyone else’s neighborhood full of (pesky) dandelions (たんぽぽ)? Weeding is one of my least favorite things to do– so to be honest, I’m not very fond of dandelions. Many people in Japan, however, think dandelions are “cute”! My daughter loves them too, and always picks me a dandelion bouquet.

Last week, I decided to “make lemonade out of lemons” and turn these weeds into something pretty. My daughter and I collected the biggest dandelions in our yard and made flower crowns. It was a very fun bonding experience, and she LOVED her crown!

dandy2

I didn’t take step-by-step photos, but these are simple to make. First, make a small slit about an inch below a dandelion head using your fingernails. Then take a second dandelion and pull the stem through the first dandelion’s slit. Then make a slit in the second dandelion’s stem, and repeat until you have the desired length. We trimmed our dandelion stems so they were only about 2-3 inches long (if the stems are too long, the crown will look messy).

dandy3

Instead of crowns, you could create bracelets, necklaces, or garlands to decorate a tea party. There are so many possibilities!

dandy4

You can use other types of flowers to make these garlands too. If the stems are not very thick, you can follow the instructions on this Japanese website to tie them a different way. If you scroll down on the website, there are also instructions for making “twirlers” using dandelion stems. Simply take a dandelion stem and make several small slits around the top and bottom. Place the stem in water, and the slits will curl. You can then send it down a stream and watch it twirl away.

Have you been doing anything creative in nature with your children lately? Please share!

4 Responses to “Dandelion Crowns たんぽぽのかんむり”

  1. gemma.hiro@gmail.com May 10, 2013 at 2:18 PM #

    Hi,

    Sorry my question is not related to your post, but I have a friend who’s looking for Japanese children songs on YouTube or other links, where she can download or save the video or song. Do you know of any?

    Thank you in advance for your reply.

    Always following in your blog.

    Gemma

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Hiragana Mama May 10, 2013 at 2:29 PM #

      Hi Gemma, I am not sure how to download YouTube videos… I recall somebody in the comments of one of my posts saying they are able to download them, but I don’t know off the top of my head what that program they used. Sorry!.

    • kileykuma May 13, 2013 at 5:41 PM #

      You can use Freemake Video Converter to download YouTube videos, if that’s what you were wanting.

What do you think? どうおもう?

