Kanji Learning Prep

1 Jul

In just a year from now, my daughter will begin learning kanji at Japanese School. In the first grade (6 years old), students typically learn to read and write 80 kanji characters. I am going to begin working on creating a “Kanji Practice Sheets” page, similar to my “Hiragana Practice Sheets”  and “Katana Resources” pages. Do you know any GREAT websites for learning kanji? If so, please let me know so I can include them on the list.

In the meanwhile, here are some YouTube videos about leaning kanji that are geared toward children:

“部首のうた” by Jun Egusa

漢字大好き 1

漢字アニメ「森」by 吉野 登志也 (more videos here)

 

P.S. THANK YOU so much to everyone who has “liked” the Hiragana Mama facebook page! –>

18 Responses to “Kanji Learning Prep”

  1. Michael Nixon July 1, 2013 at 12:55 PM #

    That’s a great idea (Kanji practice sheets), I look forward to them. They will be useful even to me as a beginner student of Japanese language. Thank you.

  2. Anya July 1, 2013 at 1:10 PM #

    Excited for the kanji resources page! I personally like Nihingo Ichiban for their free .pdf Kanji practice ebook (for JLPT 5 at the moment http://nihongoichiban.com/2011/04/10/complete-list-of-kanji-for-jlpt-n5/), they have lists for other levels too, no ebooks as of yet. I also just bought this book http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7044958-my-first-japanese-kanji-book, it has all the readings, writing practice and fun poems to recite as kids learn (includes a cd with all the songs and rhymes). I also like Obenkyo app (for Android though https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.Obenkyo&feature=search_result), it is not made specifically for kids, it’s more how to draw and stroke order and flashcards, but it will do the job for practicing stroke order (my kids actually love practicing hiragana with this app).

  3. Tonya July 1, 2013 at 2:33 PM #

    We are moving along through hiragana and katakana but I am apprehensive to start Kanji afterward because I have no plan! :) So these suggestions are helpful, but what I wanted to ask about is if you know of any pictorial kanji books? I was visiting with a friend who is teaching her child Chinese and she had these great books that turn the kanji into mnemonic symbols to help you remember what they are. (Similar to this app http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdJdRwjPVkM which we are using already)

  4. Tonya July 1, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Oh wait, I just started looking around and found this book on Amazon. :) http://www.amazon.com/dp/0962813702/ref=rdr_ext_tmb, and even better they have an app! https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150162352192589.358619.116260082588&type=3 If you know of any more like it, (prefeably one that is intended for children) please do let me know! Also, do you know what the first 80 symbols are that the children learn in first grade, and it is a national standard in Japan? It would be a great place for us to start after katakana. Having a good plan helps me plan and focus our efforts so much better!

  5. Akemi  July 1, 2013 at 4:13 PM #

    部首の歌はいいね。忘れてる部首がたくさんありました。娘とまた一緒に勉強したいと思います。ありがとう。

  6. Rachel M. July 1, 2013 at 11:50 PM #

    I’m not sure if it would be age appropriate for your daughter, but I use this kanji book with the 9-year old I nanny, Kanji de Manga Vol. 1 (http://www.amazon.com/dp/4921205027/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_plL0rb0TB27QTHWJ). It’s a no-pressure way for her to learn, and she’s exposed to Japanese through the manga’s dialogue. It’s completely age appropriate (no inappropriate subject matter or images within the book). I hold onto it and scan pages for her for her to read and learn from, but when I move to Japan I plan to give it to her.

    Then there are also the kanji sheets from HappyLilac (a site I found out through you). I’ll find practice sheets for her from there to support the lessons from Kanji de Manga Vol. 1.

    • Hiragana Mama July 2, 2013 at 8:50 AM #

      Maybe not for us, but I am sure others will appreciate this link. Thanks, Rachel!!

      • Rachel M. July 7, 2013 at 1:48 PM #

        I didn’t think it would be for you guys, but maybe some other families will appreciate it. Perhaps families where neither parent is fluent in Japanese and they just want to share the culture with their child.

        Always nice to hear about all the things your daughter gets to learn in Japanese school! 80 kanji seems a lot for a six year old! But when you look at the list of kanji, they are fairly simple and for kids who are fluent in Japanese shouldn’t be too hard to learn. Kids learn so fast too.

What do you think? どうおもう?

