Japanese School Fun Fair

18 Dec

Fun5

Every year, the Japanese School we attend hosts a “Fun Fair” for its students and surrounding community. At this event, children travel around to different stations to play games, make crafts, wear kimonos, and participate in many other activities to help them better understand the Japanese culture.

Like all the other activities at Japanese School, this event is run by parent volunteers. Something I love about Japanese culture is how efficiently everyone works together. As I helped put up decorations for this event, I looked around and marveled at how hard and cooperatively everyone was working to pull this off for our kids. I didn’t see anyone sitting around or trying to get away with doing as little as possible.

fun1

Fun2

Some of the stations were:

1) Japanese calligraphy (しゅうじ)

2) Origami (おりがみ)

3) Paper-airplane making (かみひこうき)

4) Beanbag-toss

5) Yo-yo-scooping (ヨーヨーつり)

6) Super-ball scooping (スーパーボールすくい)

7) Tea Ceremony

8) Wear traditional kimonos/yukatas

9) Kendama (けんだま)

10) Hane-tsuki (はねつき)

11) Kendo (けんどう)

12) Karuta (カルタ)

13) Fukuwarai (ふくわらい)

14) Spinning tops (こままわし)

15) Used (Japanese) books sale

Fun3

Fun4

Does the Japanese School near you host events like this?

One Response to “Japanese School Fun Fair”

  1. Kendama Shop Online May 4, 2014 at 1:18 AM #

    Hi there! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.

    Does running a well-established website such as yours require a
    lot of work? I am completely new to blogging however I
    do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience
    and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any
    suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

What do you think? どうおもう?

