Things To Do In Japan With Kids: Visit Kyoto

9 Jan

DSCN6176

I’m itching to visit Japan again. Oh how I wish I could be one of those people who can go every year! I was looking through our Japan Trip 2012 pictures and realized I never shared pictures from our day in Kyoto.

DSCN6120

Kyoto would be a wonderful place to visit as a couple, by yourself, or with friends… but it is also very kid-friendly. There are many things to see and do and it is very walkable. Not to mention just GORGEOUS! You can’t fly all the way to Japan and NOT see Kyoto. We only had one day to spend in Kyoto, so we went to see Kiyomizudera and the surrounding area.

DSCN6117

(not super stroller-friendly)

DSCN6124

DSCN6237

If you visit Kyoto, be prepared to eat a lot of delicious food and buy beautiful souvenirs.

DSCN6196

DSCN6199

Would you pay a thousand dollars for this Totoro stuffed animal?

DSCN6212

Kyoto is one of my favorite places in Japan to visit. Next time, I would love to spend several days there… perhaps in the fall to see the 紅葉 (leaves changing colors).

I’m going to start saving my pennies so we can go to Japan again! Does anyone in Japan want to offer my non-Japanese speaking husband a job? LOL.

3 Responses to “Things To Do In Japan With Kids: Visit Kyoto”

  1. Summer January 10, 2014 at 12:04 AM #

    We went to Kyoko last spring, during Sakura too! Our girls loved it! Especially Nijo-jo and a steam train museum we found. And a dance performance by some maiko in Gion. And I don’t know what your husband does, but there are a lot of civilian contractors with the military/embassy out here.

    • Hiragana Mama January 10, 2014 at 7:35 AM #

      That sounds like a good time! I didn’t know there was a train museum there.

  2. Liam January 30, 2014 at 1:18 AM #

    Kyoto is a wonderful city, I had the pleasure of living there for a year (my wife is from Kyoto), and I can’t recommend it highly enough to friends and family who visit Japan. For some of my family Kyoto IS Japan!

    If you can visit in late November, early December you really should. 紅葉 in Kyoto is wonderful, especially Tofukuji in the south and Arashiyama in the north. Shimogamo-jinja is also very nice. Actually the whole city is nice! I better stop, I could rave about Kyoto for days…

What do you think? どうおもう?

