Benesse Challenge Touch (チャレンジタッチ)

9 Feb

With my daughter starting first grade (一年生) at her Japanese Language School soon, I have been looking into how to best prepare her for the more challenging studies ahead. I will be sharing all the great resources I have found for first-graders with you on this blog!

In the meanwhile, I wanted to know if any of you have heard of or are planning to try the brand-new “Challenge Touch/チャレンジタッチ” program by Benesse? They are the company that does the Kodomo Challenge/Shimajiro programs. In the past, they have offered monthly subscriptions for their learning packets which have included books, DVDs, and educational toys. Beginning in April 2014, they are rolling out a new program for elementary aged children where all of those materials are being replaced by a tablet. Each month, new material will be downloaded onto the tablet. Children use the touch pen to learn and practice kokugo (hiragana, katakana, kanji, etc), math, English, etc. Here are some videos to show you what it’s like.

For lower elementary grades:

For upper elementary grades:

See more sample videos here.

I am SUPER interested and hope this will be available to those of us living overseas. I am getting to the point where I feel like I’ve taught my daughter almost all the Japanese words that I know and she is starting to fall behind her native-Japanese friends at school. We can use all the help that we can get. I plan to send Bennesse an email and will let you know what I find out.

5 Responses to “Benesse Challenge Touch (チャレンジタッチ)”

  1. Melania Lasagna February 17, 2014 at 10:15 PM #

    Hi,
    I want this for my daughter!! Do you know if this will become available in the US?

    • Hiragana Mama February 18, 2014 at 11:32 AM #

      I don’t know yet! I will let you know on the blog if I find out.

      • Christine July 13, 2014 at 5:19 PM #

        I’m in the same boat as you. My daughter is falling behind her friends because we don’t have a consistent Japanese environment at home. Let me know what you find out!

        • Hiragana Mama July 13, 2014 at 9:25 PM #

          They don’t ship this program overseas at this time :( There are some people who have it sent to an address in Japan then get it to the U.S., but I guess it doesn’t work as well (?)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kodomo Challenge Live!こどもちゃれんじライブ授業 | Hiragana Mama - July 19, 2014

    […] English, animals, etc. The episodes are shown “live” (children in Japan who own the Kodomo Challenge Tablet can participate in the show as they watch).  In Japan, the show is on every Saturday morning. […]

What do you think? どうおもう?

