Earthquake in Japan (じしん)

11 Mar

Today I’ll be thinking about my family and friends in Japan and Hawaii. I hope everyone is safe!!

All the phone lines have been down but my mom finally got through to her sister via email. Sounds like everyone in my family is ok. All the trains were shut down, so my 60+year old aunt walked home from work… one and a half hours! Others who don’t live that close to work are sleeping at their offices or waiting hours for a taxi. What a shock! I am having a hard time watching the news- it is so scary yet I can’t pull myself away from it. My heart goes out to everyone affected. My sister going to school in Hawaii is ok as well.

I hope all your families are ok too. I know some of you are planning trips to Japan soon… I  hope your travel plans won’t be affected too much. I wonder what the best way to help is?

Live from NHK:


Video clips at Ustream

2 Responses to “Earthquake in Japan (じしん)”

  1. nijiko March 11, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    Thanks for posting this! I agree, seeing all the damage and losses is heartbreaking. If you find any good ways that someone like me could help, let me know. Maybe I could collect some basic supplies and bring them over when I go next month.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Is It Safe to Visit Japan? « Hiragana Mama - July 20, 2011

    […] children there?”… These are questions that I have been asking myself ever since the Earthquake. It has been nearly 7 years since my last visit to Japan and I am craving it… the people, the […]

What do you think? どうおもう?

