‘Hafu’ Movie

22 Mar

Hafu Film teaser (with Japanese subtitles) from Hafu Film on Vimeo.

I’m guessing many of you readers are “hafu”, or half-Japanese. Maybe your children, your parents, or husband are. If you aren’t, there’s a good probability that you know some “hafu” people. “Half-Japanese” people are other times referred to as “halvsies” or “hapa”. Either way, I’m not sure how I feel about my children being called “a half” of anything. They are a whole person of mixed race. Hmmm… I’m sure they will grow up having to explain to people all the time that “My dad is Caucasian and my mom is Japanese”.

ANYWAY, there is an interesting documentary due out in late 2011 called “HAFU“.  CNN wrote an interesting article about the movie last year. The film’s website describes the movie in this way:

“Hafu” is the unfolding journey of discovery into the intricacies of mixed-race Japanese and their multicultural experience in modern-day Japan.

I think it looks interesting and definitely want to go see it. I want to know what kinds of issues my children will face during their lives because of their mixed race. I hope their experiences will be mostly positive. Another ongoing project is the “Hafu Project”. You can check out the website to see pictures of mixed-race Japanese people and read their stories.

3 Responses to “‘Hafu’ Movie”

  1. Sayaka March 24, 2011 at 11:46 PM #

    Hmm, looks like an interesting movie, and I guess I can kind of see the identity crisis thing for some people, esp. if they live in Japan, but other than that I can’t imagine a lot of huge challenges for half Japanese kids. I mean, from my experience, the stereotypes associated with being half Japanese are really positive and people are jealous of them. Half Japanese is apparently a really cool thing to be.

  2. Nyasha January 30, 2014 at 8:39 AM #

    I’ve just posted my thoughts on the Hafu ‘ハーフ’ film that I was lucky to watch in. Please take a look at the article and comment if you can! http://www.nynyonline.co.uk/promopo-%E3%83%8F%E3%83%BC%E3%83%95-hafu-film-screening/
    日本語訳はすぐに終わります。

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Please Show Hafu Film Your Support! « Hiragana Mama - November 5, 2011

    […] blogged about the Hafu (ハーフ)Film before, but it’s worth mentioning again! This is what the film is about, from their […]

What do you think? どうおもう?

