Changes to NHK Kid’s Shows

15 Apr

I don’t know if you watch いないいないば〜、おかあさんといっしょ、and other NHK shows or not, but the end of March brought some new faces/characters!

First, Koto-chan is no longer the face of Inai-Inai-Ba. The new girl is Yuuna-chan(ゆうなちゃん). She looks super cute! Along with the new girl, there is a new opening (I like it!) and new dance.

Okaasan-to-issho/おかあさんといっしょ/With Mother also has new characters. Monolan-Monolan(モノランモノラン) was replaced by Poco-Potato(ポコポッテイト).

image from ameblo.jp/pima0923

Apparently, the character on the left that looks like a cow is a SHEEP. That’s confusing. But other than that, I think they are adorable, and I like them better than the previous characters. (Coloring page of the new characters here).

I was browsing the NHK Kids Website and wanted to point out some of their other shows in case you are interested.

There’s a show called Nihongo de Asobo/Let’s Play with Japanese/にほんごであそぼ. At first glance, it looks like it would be a great show for the beginning Japanese learner. But the little I’ve seen of the show so far (via YouTube), I think it is geared more towards older elementary children, or people who are already pretty proficient at Japanese. Some of their segments are hard to understand. This video is cute though… about big numbers.

The website also has a fun interactive karuta game. Just scroll down to the middle of the page where there is a purple button that says 絵あわせかるた and click the button.

Lastly, I am sooo curious about this new show called Design-Ah/デザインあ. It looks like a show about graphic design for kids. It makes me want to sign up for NHK TV. Check out this page. You’ll be intrigued too.

What are your favorite Japanese educational kid’s shows? Do you subscribe to NHK where you live, and is it worth the $?

4 Responses to “Changes to NHK Kid’s Shows”

  1. Marcelo Esteban Mauricio April 3, 2015 at 7:04 AM #

    What’s the name of the Poco-Potato character in the middle, the one with white hair? What is (s)he? A moose? No, I don’t think so… A bull? No, not that either… I’m confused!

    • Hiragana Mama April 17, 2015 at 3:08 PM #

      His name is メーコブ and there definitely has been confusion about what he is🙂 Pretty sure he is a sheep with spots!

      • Marcelo Esteban Mauricio October 11, 2015 at 2:08 PM #

        Also, if you’re intrigued about Design Ah!, just sign up for NHK with your cable provider. I did with DIRECTV and I’m not complaining. Well… I must admit that signing up for this channel was in part my mom’s ideea, she wanted to see the world with other eyes, so to speak.
        Also, I’m in love with Mutekichi (I now know how to romanize the name you wrote in characters) and, to me, he looks more like a cow than a sheep. But, if you say he is actually a sheep despite being seen as a cow….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “Smile Pretty Cure”… my thoughts « Hiragana Mama - May 8, 2012

    […] sweet 4-year has graduated from Japanese shows like Inai Inai Baa/いないいないば〜 and Okaasantoissho/おかあさんといっしょ (cry!). She’ll […]

What do you think? どうおもう?

