Learning Japanese with the iPad

27 Apr

If I had an iPad, I would definitely get these apps for my kids:

1) かなもじ

2) うたえほん

You can read about how to download Japanese apps here and here.  Basically, if you don’t have a Japanese credit card, you can still download songs and apps if you buy an iTunes Japan gift card.

6 Responses to “Learning Japanese with the iPad”

  1. yseino April 28, 2011 at 6:57 PM #

    Ha, I don’t understand that oni song, but those apps do look nice. Did you find anything cool for the iTouch?

  2. norman_h May 9, 2011 at 2:57 AM #

    Hiya!

    Thanks for sharing.

    We have 8 month old and are waiting for him to get to the end of his “try eating everything” phase before putting any iDevices in front of him. I’ve bookmarked those two apps and have been looking (unsuccessfully so far) for more Japanese ones.

    I’ll try to post back here if I find any cool kids apps in Japanese.

    Cheers!

    • Hiragana Mama May 9, 2011 at 7:02 AM #

      Have you tried looking at the kids apps on the Japanese iTunes? There are a lot there. Yes, let me know if you find any good ones. Thanks!

      • norman_h September 29, 2011 at 3:13 AM #

        I’ve tried looking on the Japanese iTunes, but, it appears that I need to create a whole new account to get at them.

        Anyway, I found that this one is really good, with several hundred flash cards and the hiragana alphabet. It contains all the cards with 10 different languages. It’s also very easy for our 12 month old to lean to swipe the screen and get a new picture.

        http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cute-baby-flash-cards-lite/id412503604?mt=8

        • Hiragana Mama September 29, 2011 at 7:05 AM #

          Awesome, thanks for sharing!! More and more Japanese apps are becoming available to us in the USA as time goes on🙂 It would be nice if we didn’t have to create separate accounts to buy through iTunes Japan.

  3. norman_h September 29, 2011 at 7:17 PM #

    No problem for the share. My wife thinks that the voice doesn’t sound very Japanese though… I tend to think it’s an American-Japanese accent.

    BTW, I’m stuck on the Australian iTunes store. Same deal as the US iTunes store.😉

What do you think? どうおもう?

