Check out my article :)

1 Sep

おはようございます!! I hope you’re enjoying the end of summer (I guess in some parts of the world, summer is just beginning).

My big news for today is that I have an article published in In Culture Parent magazine. I was contacted by the owner, Stephanie, a month or two ago about submitting an article about bilingual parenting. I felt like I could have written a book on the topic, but I managed to whittle it down to just a few hundred words. What do you think of it? I am feeling both proud and sheepish about it. Proud because this is the first time anything I’ve written has been published since my high school days. And sheepish, because I’m not confident in my writing skills.

Read my article HERE.

And, I guess my “secret identity” isn’t so secret anymore. Oh well. You all aren’t going to stalk me now or anything, right?

13 Responses to “Check out my article :)”

  1. yseino September 1, 2011 at 11:35 AM #

    That’s awesome! I didn’t know about your dream jobs; you’d be good at both. Maybe you should just write your own children’s book someday.

  2. Patty September 1, 2011 at 11:55 AM #

    It’s a great article about the challenges of teaching the kids Japanese. Especially, as I see it, when there is less necessity for it here in America (at least, compared to Spanish or eventually Chinese). I am also a Japanese-American, raised in California but with Japanese speaking parents. I learned to speak conversationally and read/write better after spending a couple of years in Japan. Now that I live in Kansas with my purely American husband, the challenges are harder for my two girls (6 and 7 years old) to be interested in learning Japanese. Thankfully, there’s a Japanese school here that they attend every Saturday but I realize that my hatred for Japanese school when I was younger is spilling into my internal conflict with pushing them to do the homework. They’re still young enough to be willing to learn so I need to discipline myself to keep them going without coming off as “tiger mom” ;P. So I’ve started with teaching them to say, “Itadakimasu” and “gochisousama” at meal times along with watching japanese videos. Baby steps are working better for me 🙂 I love your website and it’s so great to have all the wonderful resources and insights you have on here available to us moms!

    • Hiragana Mama September 1, 2011 at 12:09 PM #

      Patty thanks so much for your comment!! I would love to hear more about your adventures in teaching your daughters Japanese sometime. I love to hear from people who have children older than mine (so I know what’s in store for me). Yes, it’s all about the baby steps!!

      • Patty September 2, 2011 at 12:12 AM #

        Oh, I’d love to talk about the adventures and drama of my girls learning Japanese with mom! Do have a few hours to spare!! Of course, it’s mainly dependent on the temperment of the child…..and the mom!
        On a side note, I seem to notice that American children who speak Japanese really well are often sent to Japan for the summer. They stay with relatives and go to school while there. I wonder if that may be our best option…..though I don’t know if it’s doable for us.

        • Hiragana Mama September 2, 2011 at 8:32 AM #

          That would be ideal, wouldn’t it! But at almost $2000 per plane ticket, it’s not feasible for us either.

  3. Bicultural Mama September 1, 2011 at 12:58 PM #

    Oh, so that’s your alter ego, now I know! Yes, I can see how it would be expensive (language school, going to the country,etc.). Congrats on publishing a great article!

  4. Asianmommy September 1, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    I’m so impressed by your commitment to keeping up both languages in your home. We send our kids to Chinese school, but they retain so little of it. I really need to ramp it up a bit at home.

  5. sophie September 2, 2011 at 1:42 AM #

    I loved this article and found it so true. People think that if one parent speaks a second language then your children will automatically become bilingual, but it actually takes a lot of time, work, and yes, money. We are stretching our finances to send our kids to private Mandarin immersion school but it is so worth it.
    I also had an article published in the same edition of InCulture Parent so enjoyed seeing yours there too. Congratulations!

  6. Hiragana Mama September 2, 2011 at 8:33 AM #

    Thank you everyone for your kind comments!

  7. smurfett September 2, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    I never thought about it in terms of money you need. Quite interesting. I’ve been thinking it’s not a bilingual kid I really want to raise, but a bi-cultural kid. Someone who’s comfortable in both. What do you think?

    • Hiragana Mama September 2, 2011 at 4:53 PM #

      I guess it just depends! We are hoping our children will be both bilingual and bicultural. (For me, I think the bilingual part takes more effort). We have quite a few relatives who only speak Japanese so I’d want my kids to be at least fluent enough to maintain a connection with them… or perhaps they will be interested in researching their family history when they are older– knowing Japanese would most definitely be helpful then. As far as being bicultural goes, I just want my children to appreciate their roots and realize what a fun blessing it is to have their unique background. For me, a lot of my motivation is FAMILY. Maintaining family connections, appreciating family members, loving our family for who we are. Oh my, maybe I should just write a post on this topic.

      Thanks for making me think, smurfett!

      • smurfett September 9, 2011 at 2:05 AM #

        Hmm…I havn’t thought of it this way before. I’ve been so focused on getting my kids to learn chinese and chinese culture, I havn’t thought about it only in terms of making them appreciate their roots. I realized today that no matter what they won’t be Chinese, because they’re hapa.

  8. mich86 September 9, 2011 at 3:28 AM #

    thats awesome they have this magazine that i’m sure helps sooo many parents/ppl :)your article definitely will inspire a lot of parents and so does your website!!!!!

What do you think? どうおもう?

