Japanese Cold Remedies

20 Sep

風邪を引いてしまいました〜。

Blah. Any of you out there sick like me?

When I get sick, I crave comfort and warmth. And I like them in the forms of okayu and yuzu tea (yujacha).

Okayu is rice porridge. Here is a recipe from about.com. It is easy to digest and oh-so-comforting. You can top the rice with umeboshi, pieces of fish, furikake, etc .Ochazuke is comforting too.

Yuzu Tea, or yujacha, is a deeeelicious hot drink that soothes the throat and body. I picked up a box of Yuzu Citrus Tisane Beverage at Trader Joe’s this morning. All you have to do is mix with hot water. If you like to drink honey-lemon tea, you will LOVE yuzu tea. I am already regretting the fact that I only picked up one box this morning. I should have bought several boxes! You can also find large jars of yuzu marmalade at Asian grocery stores. You just mix a spoonful of the marmalade with hot water. Sooooo good.  (More about yuzu HERE and HERE)

What do you do/crave when you are sick? In addition to having these comfort foods on hand, I’ve been eating a lot of garlic. It’s supposed to help shorten the duration of your cold. Do you believe in wearing masks when you’re sick, like the Japanese do?

You can read about more Japanese comfort foods HERE.

8 Responses to “Japanese Cold Remedies”

  1. Bicultural Mama September 20, 2011 at 11:18 PM #

    I’m always looking for natural ways to treat colds, thanks for these suggestions! My mom use to give us honey water – literally just honey mixed in with warm water (when we had colds).

  2. Asianmommy September 22, 2011 at 12:25 AM #

    Interesting–I’ll have to try this tea.

  3. Az September 22, 2011 at 7:26 AM #

    お大事に〜。

    When I get cold, I have honey-ginger drink. Add lemon, honey and ginger to the hot water. That is good for throat and cough.

    My mon always gave ice cream when I had fever. So sometime, I pretended I had fever
    ;-P

    • Hiragana Mama September 24, 2011 at 12:31 PM #

      Ice cream?? lol. That would make any kid happy 🙂

  4. Rochelle September 23, 2011 at 1:40 AM #

    Interesting, thanks for these. I’m always looking for cold remedies. Very helpful!

  5. Felina December 29, 2011 at 1:41 AM #

    My mom used to give me chicken noodle soup, or, as an extra special treat, matzoh ball soup from the local deli. She also would make me apple or orange juice slushies using my great-grandmother’s hand-cranked ice grinder. Their coldness helped balance the soup’s heat. Soooo good! (In more recent years, mint or lemongrass herbal teas have worked as well!)

    The tea sounds delicious, I should look for some! 🙂 Okayu sounds like the Chinese congee I’ve read about.

    Domo arigato, Hiragana Mama! (It’s both good yet sad I can only read in hiragana, and struggle with kanji & katakana. My sensei would tell me to benkyou suru!)

What do you think? どうおもう?

