Kazari Sushi

18 Nov

I was first introduced to kazari-sushi (かざりすし) at a birthday party last year and I have been wanting to learn how to make them ever since. Luckily, I just made a new friend who kindly showed me how! Here are our results:

Kazari-sushi /飾り寿司 translates to “sushi for decoration” so it is not considered the most tasty of sushi’s… but I thought they still tasted great! In the photo below, the rolls that look like flowers are the kazari-sushi. (The one on the bottom-middle is supposed to look like a rose but mine didn’t turn out perfectly).

Here’s the inside of a rose kazari-sushi:

Kazari-sushi is often used to add fun and an artistic surprise to children’s bento boxes (お弁当箱). Japanese mothers (perhaps fathers too) put a lot of time and LOVE into these bento lunches. It kind of makes me feel bad for feeding my kids peanut butter and jelly sandwiches every day for lunch! You can check out some amazing kazari-sushi and kyara-ben’s/キャラ弁 (bento’s with characters) at these sites:

1) Tokyo Sushi Academy

2) A collection of kazari sushi at naver.matome.jp

3) here’s how a rose sushi is supposed to look, at ranblog.seesaa.net

What do you think? Do you want to learn how to make these artistic sushi’s? Is it not worth the time for you? Would your kids love them? Are you a master of kyara-ben’s?

Lastly, a how-to video for Anpanman kazari sushi:

9 Responses to “Kazari Sushi”

  1. yseino November 19, 2011 at 3:05 PM #

    Haha that Anpanman sushi is so cool!

    • Hiragana Mama November 19, 2011 at 7:31 PM #

      I know! Some people are so good at making this stuff! I prefer my sushi’s simple though… I don’t know how I feel about my food having been handled so much.

  2. Bicultural Mama November 19, 2011 at 5:10 PM #

    Wow, I hadn’t heard of these…sushi for decoration. I’m sure they all still tasted as great as they looked!

  3. Az November 21, 2011 at 12:29 PM #

    This sushi is originally local dish of Chiba ( close to Tokyo).
    But now it being more popular.

    I love to make these sushi, but my husband doesn’t.
    I’m sad I can not make these for my family.

    • Hiragana Mama November 21, 2011 at 12:56 PM #

      Oh, I didn’t know (about Chiba)!

      You can make ME sushi anytime!!! :-p

  4. HapaMama November 27, 2011 at 3:20 AM #

    Those are almost too pretty to eat. But I’m sure they tasted delicious. You must have nimble fingers to make those tiny rolls!

  5. AdelaideBen November 27, 2011 at 5:47 PM #

    Looked like you did an amazing job to me though. And whilst it might be more for decoration, I’m sure it tasted wonderful nonetheless. Nice one! I love the how-to guides.

  6. kiisu23 September 5, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

    I live making bento but I’ve only really just discovered this type of sushi but now I really want to try to make it🙂

What do you think? どうおもう?

