Happy Hinamatsuri

28 Feb

***

Isn’t this a cute ekaki-uta? March 3rd (this Saturday) is Hinamatsuri (Girl’s Day) in Japan. Read my post from 2011 for ideas on how to celebrate ひなまつり!

This year, my children made these crafts in honor of Hinamatsuri (all ideas are by my talented friend Az!):

hina ningyou made of clay and paper

hina ningyou card by my daughter

hina ningyou card by my son (with mommy's help)

I was craving mochi so I used this mochiko recipe from Cookpad (Cookpad is the equivalent of America’s “Allrecipes”). It was easy to make and my kids gobbled it up!

anko mochi cake I made in honor of Girl's Day

Are you doing anything to celebrate? Do you own a hina-ningyou set? (If so, I am jealous!)

P.S. I am sorry I have been slow about responding to emails and comments. We had a family emergency this weekend and I am still recovering from our whirlwind trip… 5 planes in 3 days! I feel like I have been run over by a shinkansen🙂. The good thing is, I now feel more prepared for our long plane ride to Japan. I’ll be posting about what I plan to do to entertain my kiddos for 17 hours on the plane soon!

4 Responses to “Happy Hinamatsuri”

  1. Ookamichan Bi February 28, 2012 at 9:30 PM #

    Your blog is so cute and useful to me. I’m Vietnamese but I love Japan so much. I am learning Japanese. My English is not good :”> But I think I can learn both English and Japnanese good if I read your blog everyday ^^ Nice to meet you and thanks for your useful blog :X:X

    • Hiragana Mama February 28, 2012 at 9:39 PM #

      Your English is great! Thank you so much for your comment.

  2. Traci Tomomitsu March 1, 2012 at 5:56 AM #

    Thank you for your wonderful blog filled with lots of information & links. I truly appreciate your blog. I’m using a lot of your links to help me teach my 4 year old daughter to learn the Japanese language & culture. I think your blog will also be teaching me a few things too. Aloha from Hawaii. =)

What do you think? どうおもう?

