Things To Do In Japan With Kids: Visit the Tire Playground (たいやこうえん)

2 May

My grandpa lives near a really cool playground, called Taiya Kouen (たいやこうえん) which translates into “Tire Playground”. I played here when I would visit my grandfather as a little girl, and it hasn’t changed much since then. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Kamata Station (you’ll see lots of trains on the way there– bonus!). If you are in the Tokyo area and your kids need to release some pent-up energy, this is a GREAT place to go! I highly recommend it for any child ages 2 and up.

It was a gorgeous Sunday when we visited. It was nice to see so many families enjoying the beautiful day together. (It was especially great to see the usually-busy fathers having fun with their children)

Tires, tires, EVERYWHERE!

I enjoyed starting up conversations with other parents, and seeing my children interact with other little children.

Japanese Summary: 子どもたちを蒲田駅の近くのタイヤ公園に連れて行きました。おじいちゃんが近くに住んでいるので,私が小さいときも,ここで遊びました。とってもいい天気の日曜日で,子ども連れの家族がいっぱい遊んでいました。簡単に2時間が過ぎてしまいました。

Do you have a favorite playground in Japan?

4 Responses to “Things To Do In Japan With Kids: Visit the Tire Playground (たいやこうえん)”

  1. Sasha May 3, 2012 at 8:30 AM #

    Wow, I’ve never seen such a place before! This is awesome. Makes me wanna ask my mayor why he wouldn’t try and create one alike :p Photos are great, they make me feel I was there, because there are so many angles.
    Thank you for the Japanese translation too, this is a great idea.

    Weren’t you afraid your little boy would get hurt, climbing on the tires and falling down?

    • Hiragana Mama May 3, 2012 at 11:52 AM #

      My kids get hurt all the time… they are both very active and think they are monkeys. But we stayed close and they didn’t get hurt at this playground 😉

  2. Perogyo May 5, 2012 at 10:30 PM #

    Wow, this is really cool!
    We were in Fukuoka for Golden Week and went to the transportation playground, where they have real old trains and planes, and the kids can go on a gokart course with real signs and lights. It was so much fun!

    • Hiragana Mama May 6, 2012 at 9:20 PM #

      I’ve never heard of the transportation playground, it sounds awesome!

What do you think? どうおもう?

