Japanese Children’s Songs Karaoke

11 Jul

I just discovered two fun YouTube channels (users takanonGB and takanonDC) full of Japanese children’s songs (どうよう)… perfect for karaoke! Each song has the lyrics in hiragana/katakana. These videos are perfect for my preschooler who is just starting to be able to read words in hiragana. My children and I have been singing along all morning. Here are some of our favorites:

Jungle Pocket ジャングルポッケット:

Bun Bun Bun Hachi Ga Tobu ブンブンブンはちがとぶ:

Do Re Mi no Uta ドレミのうた:

Lots more Japanese videos scheduled to be posted soon, so check back every day this week for something fun and educational to watch with your kids. I also have a lot of other fun things to post about… answering questions from readers, more from our trip to Japan, summer holidays, etc! I just hope I will have time to write about it all🙂

5 Responses to “Japanese Children’s Songs Karaoke”

  1. L2L July 12, 2012 at 7:36 AM #

    Thanks for sharing!!! Going to go look and see if they have head shoulders knees and toes. It is one of the only songs I think they remember in Japanese. We only know a, i, u, e, o, ka, ki, ku, ke, ko…. but I’m hoping that maybe if they hear and see a song they know it might help their brains to pair the sounds and hiragana together or at least start to hear the different phonetic sounds in Japanese I love reading your blog, I just don’t always get to comment but know it has motivated me to keep pressing in my desire to open up the world of reading in Japanese to my children!!!!

  2. MrCdoubleT March 12, 2013 at 3:18 PM #

    Just subscribed to the two channels you mentioned. Thanks. I know we’re going to have a lot of fun with these songs.

  3. Kelly Canaan June 24, 2014 at 3:30 PM #

    今夜息子たちに見せる予定です。Do you know of a video or web site that teaches the Japanese vocabulary for body parts?

What do you think? どうおもう?

