Popular American Children’s Shows: In Japanese!

11 Jan

あけましておめでとうございます!Thank you for following my blog, even though I am terrible at posting regularly.

Did you know that many popular American children’s shows are available in Japanese? Shows like Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Sesame Street, Dora the Explorer, Curious George, Little Einsteins, and more! And of course all the Disney/Pixar movies like Frozen get translated to Japanese as well. It is a very fun way for children to learn Japanese with their favorite characters.

My toddler’s current favorite show to watch in Japanese is Sophia the First (小さなプリンセスソフィア). I think the translation has been done really well!

 

So how do you find and watch these shows? One option is to search YouTube. This option is free- however, due to copyright laws, it can be difficult to find full episodes.

amazon-jp

A better option is to purchase the DVD’s and Blu-Rays via Amazon Japan. Many of the DVD’s cost between 1000 and 2000 yen ($10-$20) each, with Blu-Rays being more like $20-$30. The advantage of the blu-rays is that Japanese blu-rays can be played in America (not sure about other countries). Japanese DVDs will only work on Region 2 or Region-Free players. My dream is to own all the Disney/Pixar movies in Japanese on Blu-Ray!

hulu

I really hope that someday soon, we will have access to things like Hulu Japan or Netflix Japan so we can stream great children’s shows from Japan. (Dear people who work for these companies, could you please make this happen for all of us parents who are teaching their children Japanese while overseas?)

Anyway, thought I would share, if you hadn’t thought about this before! Don’t forget that Ghibli movies are readily available in America– even at your local libraries!

And lastly, because my kids love watching this… Pikotaro x Sesame Street Japan 🙂

5 Responses to “Popular American Children’s Shows: In Japanese!”

  1. mimitchi33 January 12, 2017 at 7:52 PM #

    I love Sofia the First too! I’ve seen clips of the Japanese dub, and it’s amazing. I also have the Japanese dub of Inside Out on Blu-Ray, which I also love! The translation was very different (For example, in one part, Bing Bong sings a little song where he spells out D-A-N-G-E-R, rather than just saying it), and the voices matched the characters!
    Speaking of Japanese kids shows, have you heard of PriPara (プリパラ)? It’s the biggest thing amongst little girls in Japan, even bigger than Pretty Cure. It’s a show about a little girl who goes into a virtual idol world where everyone-regardless of body type, weakness or ethnicity-can become an idol. It also teaches girls many great lessons, and has great music. You can rent episodes on Amazon Japan, but you’ll need a Japanese credit card or will need to have someone send over a Japanese Amazon gift card:
    https://www.amazon.co.jp/gp/video/detail/B00W4LK4O0?ref_=aiv_dp_season_select

    • Hiragana Mama January 13, 2017 at 7:23 PM #

      Oh nice! I’ve been wanting the Japanese version of Inside Out. I am not a fan of Pretty Cure and have not heard of PriPara. It sounds interesting, I will look into it, thanks!

      • DenverCoder February 7, 2017 at 6:07 PM #

        We also watch Sofia the First in Japanese. My daughter’s name is Sophia so she loves it. I will swear here and now that she enjoys the Japanese versions way more than the English ones. I have a playlist on YouTube, (Search “Japanese Kids Songs Timothy Myers”), with most of the songs from Sophia the First in Japanese. I would really like to find Little Einsteins in Japanese since she really likes that show.

  2. Trina March 9, 2017 at 12:41 PM #

    My amazing husband found a way to switch our Netflix account to Japanese. We still have access to all the US shows, but the shows that are available on Netflix Japan have the voice over/subtitle option for Japanese. My favorite is Puffin Rock (ウナとババの島) and my daughter likes Bug Beats ( バーグベーず). I’ll write back with how he accomplished it…stay tuned.

What do you think? どうおもう?

