Learning Kanji With Poop– yes, really

4 Jun

So guess what the #1 bestselling textbook in Japan is? It is:

unko

日本一楽しい漢字ドリル うんこかん字ドリル 小学1年生” (The Most Fun Kanji Drill Book in Japan: Poop Kanji for First Grade)

I saw this on Amazon Japan a few months ago and had a good chuckle. Someone is a genius! Do you know how much my kids love potty-humor? Hahaha.

IMG_4867

So I was totally on board when my son’s first-grade teacher at Japanese School wanted every student in her class to have a copy of this kanji workbook. And you know what? My son LOVES it. I hear him reading this book out loud to his sister in the mornings. I have to force him to stop working in the book sometimes. Would your kids be motivated to learn kanji if they had a workbook like this?

Here are some sample pages:

IMG_4869

IMG_4870

The translation for the first example sentence above is: “Today’s weather forecast is sunny, partly poopy.”

There are unko/poop kanji workbooks for grades 1-6. I’m not sure how many 6th graders would like this learning style, but my first grader sure likes it. They can be bought at Amazon Japan, here (I am not affiliated with Amazon Japan).

You can find out more at: https://unkokanji.com/

One Response to “Learning Kanji With Poop– yes, really”

  1. denohmarie June 10, 2017 at 12:06 AM #

    I’m reinforcing my knowledge in Nihongo in preparation for taking the JLPT exam. 😀 I’m having fun looking at your resources. Makes me wish I started studying Nihongo when I was kid! Thanks for sharing your feedback on this book. 🙂

What do you think? どうおもう?

