100th Day of School, Japanese-Style

18 Feb


Many kindergarten classes in the United States celebrate the 100th Day of School. My daughter’s class was no exception. For homework, we were asked to make a project out of 100 things. We tossed around a few ideas and of course, my daughter wanted to try the most time-consuming idea, haha. We decided to fold 100 origami cranes!! It took a lot of patience over several days, but we are happy with the finished product. Needless to say, my daughter is now an expert at folding cranes.



Did your children do anything for their 100th day of school? If you have to complete a similar project in the future, I encourage you to infuse some Japanese culture into your project! You could make 100 shuriken’s (ninja stars), write the numbers 1-100 in Japanese, etc. Stand out from the crowd and be unique!

A video about how to count to 100 in Japanese by JapanSocietyNYC!

5 Responses to “100th Day of School, Japanese-Style”

  1. eclecticlamb February 18, 2014 at 1:59 PM #

    Such a wonderful project!

  2. 孟樂嵐 April 3, 2014 at 6:36 PM #

    Does your Japanese School have textbooks, where do they buy the textbooks? And schools in Japan, what company publishes most of the Japanese language textbooks?

    • Hiragana Mama April 7, 2014 at 12:24 PM #

      yes, we have textbooks, I will look up the info and do a blog post in the future!

      • 孟樂嵐 April 9, 2014 at 6:17 PM #

        Thank you, I would appreciate that. I teach my kids Chinese at home with Chinese textbooks from California. I know some Japanese and was hoping to compare how Japanese textbooks help kids learn Japanese. Seeing kids’ textbooks for other languages help me a lot to teach better, I think. Lelan

What do you think? どうおもう?

