Book Review: “Japanese Celebrations”

28 Mar

If you’ve been reading my blog for a few months, you know that I love to celebrate Japanese holidays with my kids! Recently, a good friend of mine visited Washington D.C. and brought back this book for my children:

“Japanese Celebrations”

It is called “Japanese Celebrations” by Betty Reynolds. At first I was a little skeptical- a book about Japan written by a non-Japanese person? But I was completely delighted by what I found inside! The information is accurate and easy to understand, the pictures are great, and all the important holidays/celebrations are included. Both my preschooler and I enjoy reading this book, and I’ll be referring to it a lot when I want to know how to teach her about Japanese customs. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in Japanese culture.

3 Responses to “Book Review: “Japanese Celebrations””

  1. Marisa March 29, 2011 at 11:17 AM #

    What a delight to come across this post! I have Tokyo Friends and love it – think that Japanese Celebrations will be a wonderful addition to our book collection!

    • Hiragana Mama March 29, 2011 at 11:33 AM #

      I haven’t heard of “Tokyo Friends”- I’ll definitely check it out! Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Books About Japan by Tuttle Publishing, and a GIVEAWAY! | Hiragana Mama - April 17, 2015

    […] own and love “Japanese Celebrations” by Betty Reynolds (blogged about it back in 2011 here) so I was excited to see what else they had to […]

What do you think? どうおもう?

