Netflix Shows for Kids You Can Watch in Japanese

3 Apr

Here is a list of Netflix shows that you can watch in Japanese (in the United States). Just click on the language selection button on the bottom right corner and choose Japanese. Let me know if you know of any others in the comments!

(P.S. I’ve also been posting A LOT of Japanese learning resources on my facebook page recently, so hop on over! https://www.facebook.com/HiraganaMama.Blog)

(I’ve also received some feedback that the Japanese language option is not working for some of you for these shows! I am so sorry. I am not sure why it works for some and not others.)

  1. Teasing Master Takagi-san (my kids’ favorite! Best for tweens)
  2. PJ Masks (for preschoolers)
  3. Care Bears & Cousins (younger children)
  4. Robocar Poli (preschool? I haven’t watched it)
  5. Llama Llama (TV-Y)
  6. Pokemon: Mewtwo Strikes Back (Pretty sure all the Pokemon shows can be watched in Japanese! Just search “Pokemon” in the search bar.)
  7. Minecraft Story Mode (TV-PG)
  8. Brainchild (TV-G)
  9. Barbie Dreamhouse Adventures (TV-Y)
  10. Spirit- Riding Free (TV-Y7)
  11. Starbeam (TV-Y)
  12. Dragons Rescue Riders (TV-Y)
  13. Magic Schoolhouse Rides Again (TV-Y)
  14. True (TV-Y)
  15. Hello Ninja (TV-Y)
  16. Lu Over the Wall (PG)
  17. Stranger Things (PG-14… for teens!)
  18. Tidying Up with Marie Kondo (PG)
  19. Angela’s Christmas (TV-Y)
  20. The Princess Switch (TV-G)
  21. K-On the Movie (PG)
  22. Flavors of Youth: International Version (TV-PG)
  23. Julie’s Greenroom (TV-Y)
  24. Little Miss Sumo (TV-G)
  25. Treehouse Detectives (TV-Y)
  26. Archibald’s Next Big Thing (TV-Y)
  27. Ask the Storybots (TV-Y)
  28. The Investigators (TV-Y)
  29. Chip and Potato (TV-Y)
  30. Lalaloopsy (TV-Y)
  31. Carmen San Diego (PG)
  32. Who Was? Show (PG)
  33. Anne with an E (TV-PG)
  34. Case Closed (TV-14)
  35. Captain Underpants (TV Y7)
  36. Glitch Techs (TV-G)
  37. Fuller House (TV-PG)
  38. Nino-Kuni (TV-14)
  39. Rilakkuma and Kaoru (TV-PG)
  40. Samurai Gourmet (TV-PG)

I am sure there are so many more. I didn’t feel like checking ALL the shows!

I found it interesting that some of the shows I thought for SURE would have Japanese dubs, didn’t! For example Beyblade Burst, Glitter Force, Sonic the Hedgehog, Yo-Kai Watch, Mary and the Witch’s Flower, and Power Rangers.

Note: This worked for me from a PC. Some users are having trouble switching the languages from their Roku or other devices.

 

4 Responses to “Netflix Shows for Kids You Can Watch in Japanese”

  1. KS April 5, 2020 at 9:48 PM #

    As you wrote, we use Roku and many of these are not audio but just subtitles in Japanese 😔 So sad.

    • Hiragana Mama April 6, 2020 at 8:23 AM #

      I’m so sorry!! I hope some of the titles worked for you.

  2. Miki April 27, 2020 at 5:00 PM #

    I have a tip, instead of just selecting Japanese under the audio/subtitle button of each show, create a Japanese profile!
    My mom uses my Netflix account so we created a separate profile for her. There was an option to select Japanese as the default language for that profile only! We noticed that more shows have the option for Japanese under her profile than my English profile. That might be why some people cannot see the Japanese option?

  3. Jay August 28, 2022 at 5:21 AM #

    This is brilliant!!!

    Thank you

What do you think? どうおもう?